Unemployment

My country’s unemployment system is not working for me.  I had to leave my job for valid reasons last year (I will post more on that later). The reasons I provided for leaving my job were accepted by unemployment and therefore my claim was approved.  So no problem there – nothing to complain about.

The problem I am having is, when my former employer decided to provide information to the government, showing that I’d left my job a few months after I had made my claim, the government just seemed to have forgotten about me.   I waited a number of weeks, and when I logged into my government account online, I read a message that they’d received new information (I assume from my former employer) and that they were working on processing my claim.

When no one contacted me for a number of weeks, I went to the local unemployment office to talk to a live, in-the-flesh person, because basically, the 1-800 number that the government provides is useless, unless you want to wait on the phone all afternoon — if you can get through to anyone at all.  The person at the office told me just to wait and that my claim should be processed.  I thought they had taken their sweet time at this point, but that I’d wait because maybe that was true.  Good.

After several days of waiting, no one contacted me, and so I went back to the unemployment office.  I was told at that point (by the same person I saw the last time) that I should have been completing my reports to receive money and so by now the reports were late, even though I never received official instructions to complete them. Not a letter, e-mail, phone call, nothing. Either way, this person didn’t think to mention that I should have been completing reports the last time.

The messages I read when I logged onto the government website certainly did not indicate that I should be reporting.  The messages I read stated that my claim was still being processed (lots of processing happening, every day, for weeks – my claim has now been very well processed!).  I was given yet another form to fill out to explain why I didn’t complete my reports on time; I guess it was up to me to explain to the government why their shitty system didn’t work.

After three weeks from submitting the form which explained why my reports were not complete, I was not contacted by anyone, so I went to my local unemployment office, again.  The person I spoke to sent an e-mail to … someone (I assume one person? Wasn’t sure. I wasn’t allowed to know where the e-mail was sent) and this someone was supposed to have called me by today.  I was also given the option to call the useless 1-800 number, but I declined that option.

I am anxiously waiting by the phone in hopes that someone will call today to discuss my very delayed claim, but I doubt it.   So I will visit my unemployment office again for the fourth or fifth time in a number of weeks, since I have all the time in the world, while I am supposed to be looking for work and updating my employable skills.

Wish me luck, I’ll keep you posted.  It’s why I am screwed.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

