Baby Boomer Entitlement

Sorry for the lack of posts lately.  My partner got a job in another country and I am on a visitor’s visa.   And I am still unemployed (but that will change).  Something we’ve been talking a lot about lately is the baby boomer entitlement epidemic.  It seems there are a lot of recent publications on the subject and my partner and I experience this entitlement problem first hand on a regular basis.

We’ve noticed that those born between 1946 to 1964 tend to have a lot of expectations of the people (Gen Xers, and now Gen Yers) working for them – but these people have never had to work as hard or as long to obtain their current career and financial status.  It is important to note here that I am typically talking about white males.  These men coast through the tail ends of their careers, waiting for retirement to arrive, whilst commanding others to do work that they should in fact be doing themselves.  What the boomers have failed to notice is that the people they exploit have spent more time and money in the education system and probably a lot more time being un- or underemployed following the completion of postsecondary education.  One thing for sure is that the education the Gen Xers/Yers have worked hard to achieve is not reaping the same rewards as the baby boomers’.  Not even close.

It is a pattern we’ve observed over and over in our careers, and frankly, we are totally fed up with it.  So baby boomers, I have a message for you: stop hoarding the wealth.  Retire and make some space for the rest of us, you selfish jerks!  We can’t wait around forever to save for our retirement, which continually becomes further and further out of reach, thanks to you.  And stop calling our generation lazy.  You created your own monster, and the truth is, you’re even lazier because it’s been far easier for you to enjoy the fruits of your labour.

Related articles
3 comments

  1. I hesitate to Like this post, because I certainly don’t like anything about the situation you two are in. But I do like the way you presented your case. I’m one of those Baby Boomers, born in 1955, and I only wish I’d managed to amass anything like the wealth you refer to. I have watched my income shrink steadily over the past twenty years, while the cost of living has soared. I now find myself in the ridiculous position of having to apply for minimum wage jobs — and not getting them. Not even getting a response to my applications, resumes, emails, phone calls, and letters. I don’t know how to think about the concept of retirement anymore. And I’m not alone. I know many people around my age who are smart, creative, and hard-working, and who can’t pay their bills. So while much of what you’ve described may be accurate, some of the things you said about your generation are just as true about mine.

    Good luck to both of you.

    1. Thanks for commenting. I don’t assume that all boomers are in the exact same boat.

      Perhaps a bit more context could have helped — my finger-pointing generally refers to those in science and/or engineering professions, because that’s what I know. This could likely apply to other fields as well; perhaps business, law, etc. From what I’ve seen it has been traditionally easier for men of the boomer generation to establish themselves in these types of professions. In general, they’ve had it made in the shade.

      I think it’s fair to say that Western society (North America in particular) undervalues people who make important contributions to culture such as artists, writers, musicians, etc. and this has been an ongoing reflection of capitalistic values for many, many years. This certainly does not apply only to my generation and so the arguments you make about your situation are well taken.

      I wish you the best as well (and please don’t stop writing!).

  2. I’ve worked in various pharmacies and you can tell there are a certain group of people who just cannot put up with any minor inconvenience whatsoever. You can tell they grew up in a time where complaining basically got them every little thing they wanted. Nowadays, the non-stop growth and expansion machine of the West is sort of drying up, in my opinion. Western countries can’t just keep pushing for more growth and more resource control and have to learn how to share and live with a little less. Complaining that you want this and you want that (in terms of trivial things, not important things like health care or social assistance) doesn’t mean that everyone is just going to bend over backwards and cater to you anymore. I don’t think the baby-boomers will know how to handle that, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

