Holy Mole Monday

My first attempt at making mole went pretty well I think, but I have no idea what it is supposed to taste like since I’ve never tried it.  My partner ate it so it must be edible.

I used Rick Bayless’ recipe for Oaxacan Black Mole.  I had to use his suggested substitutions since I couldn’t find the rare chiles (Chilhuacles).  We ate this with tortillas.

WARNING: Mole-makin’ is time consuming.  I think next time it will be a two-person gig.

Enough blabbing – let’s check out the photos!

Green tomatoes and tomatillos, pre-cut

Green tomatoes and tomatillos, pre-cut and onions, garlic

Charcoalin' them chile seeds

Charcoalin’ them chile seeds

Banana puree with spices

Banana puree with spices

Green tomato and tomatillo puree

Green tomato and tomatillo puree

Pecans, almonds, peanuts

Pecan, almond and peanut puree

Removing seeds from chiles

Removing seeds from chiles

Chiles soaking after being fried in oil

Chiles soaking after being fried in oil

Final black mole, part 2

Final black mole, part 1

Final black mole

Final black mole, part 2

2 comments

Leave a Reply

