First Attempt at Making Furniture – Part Deux (that’s 2)

The wood is here! The wood is here!

Here is a picture of the barn board in the back of my car for my furniture project. The local reclaimed wood guy found me some maple! It is plastic wrapped. He did a nice job of planing/jointing it.  It is really smooth, but with lots of cool wormholes and distress marks.  I like the duality of the modern smooth, yet distressed rustic look (I’m so fancy with my description I should write for an interior design magazine).

Anyway the wood guy also gave me a quick rundown on how to biscuit join the pieces, so I’ll steal my old man’s biscuit joiner and start gluing the stuff together. I think it will be cool when it’s done and I’ll have saved lots of cash.

Time to order the hairpin legs!

20140502_112248

Wood I like to make my own furniture? Yes! I wood!

Leave a Reply

