Capitalism breeds bullshit (but we already knew that)

This is a brief follow up post from one of my previous posts.   You may think I am obsessed with bullshit, but you should be too, given that we are surrounded by it — like the air we breathe.  Thank you to Andre Spicer from Cass Business School at the City University London and M@n@gement (Revue officielle de l’AIMS), for having the cajones to publish something like this: “Shooting the shit: the role of bullshit in organizations“.  Andre has also published other fun articles about stupidity in organizations.

I think Andre would make an interesting dinner guest.  Andre, if you come across my blog and want to come for dinner, let me know.  People tell me I’m a pretty good cook.

From Sovereign Independent UK - Horsemeat Isn’t the Problem ~ It’s the Bullshit We’re Expected to Swallow!

*From Sovereign Independent UK – Horsemeat Isn’t the Problem ~ It’s the Bullshit We’re Expected to Swallow!

 

2 comments

  1. The article linked here totttttttaly reminds me of a job I used to have. This job, which is one of those referenced in the article as being particularly prone to bullshit, left me with deep feelings of uselessness, which I saw as the result of producing bountiful amounts of documentation re-stating facts already known, with the end result of being delivered to people who were way too overstretched and overworked to ever read my awful documents.Even the the ability to work from home, or cafes, couldn’t keep me at this job. I left after a year to work in a school. A funny thing I always used to notice about my job was the use of the word “deliverables.” I found this word amusing because it somehow almost seemed like an admission that 90% of what we did wasn’t “deliverable” or usable in any way. We just talked, endlessly. It was great for our social image, like the article said.

    1. Yeah, having worked in the world of consulting I can relate. We would have a meeting once per week, where occasionally one of the ‘senior’ members would come to discuss ‘business goals’. This person would speak so obtusely that I was completely confused afterward and even more demotivated than I was before going into the meeting. This person spent most days just talking on the phone to clients and doing little else (making the impression that work was being done, while taking credit for others’ good ideas of course). At other weekly meetings another manager would discuss how to distribute work because this person didn’t know how to do this properly, and when coworkers made suggestions on how to do it better, the manager would always find a reason why those suggestions were not useful (this way the manager could control everything even if it meant doing it poorly).

Leave a Reply

